Silence from Radio Holly

The busyness in my mind has been overwhelming lately, leaving little available RAM for writing.  There is the involvement in the dreaded spec at work, a geography exam with copious amounts of material to review, and size XL writing assignments for the health class (FYI the discussion topic for the week is whether prohibition helps or hurts drug use, which is an engaging topic, to say the least; next we we tackle the Affordable Care Act, so I’ve got to get crackin’).  My brain is sweating, panting, and exhausted.  I swear when this semester is over, I’ll take up meditation on a regular basis, even if it involves a lawn chair and a Corona with lime. 

When I did manage to still my mind last night while lying in bed, it was time for the big weather change that was sweeping over the Plains.  Cheeseland pretty much missed out on the severe weather, but the winds raged to carry in the cooler temperatures.  The amazing thing was the volume of the Spring Peepers.  Those little frogs have the most amazing ability to make themselves heard!  The nearest “pond” (well, it’s more of a green, slimy slick) is about two blocks away, and if you walk beside it this time of the year, you need to wear hearing protection as it’s absolutely deafening.  However, from a distance the chorus is downright charming, even to nonfrog females like me.  I’m pretty sure the Peepers were singing this:

“In spring when woods are getting green, I’ll try and tell you what I mean.  In summer when the days are long, perhaps you’ll understand the song.”  (Lewis Carroll, “Through the Looking-Glass”)

And then the cool air rushed in, and they were silent.

~ by rebuildingholly on April 16, 2012.

2 Responses to “Silence from Radio Holly”

  1. My 7-yr-old daughter LOVES frogs. She would have either been in heaven by this, or cured of her attachment!

  2. Your daughter needs to follow the sound of Spring Peepers to a pond that is filled with them–it’s unbelievable! I’m happy to report they were only silenced until the temperature rose the next night and they started feeling amorous again.

Leave a Reply

 
